edu-it

education, technology, and everything else

Readability

Posted by Miranda on March 7, 2009

The Revenge Of The Readers
This intriguing title in my Netvibes reader yesterday, alerted me to what has got to be one of the best web tools ever: Readability. This is ” a simple tool that makes reading on the web more enjoyable by removing the clutter around what you are reading”. It’s simple to install you just choose your settings – I’ve chosen e-book (which gives a slightly off-white background and sans-serif font) , medium size and medium margin. You can watch the changes in real-time on the first page of Metamorphasis. Once you’ve chosen your settings drag the bookmarklet to your browser toolbar and this:
readable1

becomes this:

readable21

Now you’ll notice, in the first screenshot that I already block Flash and advertising and animations – this is because I use Camino which allows you to block all that stuff. But if I’m trying to read a long document, this little bookmarklet will come in awful handy.

I haven’t done extensive testing on browsers and platforms but a PC using friend to whom I sent the link yesterday had this to say:

When I tried to drag it to the short cuts in IE7 it did not work. When I did the same in Firefox, I have a script blocker that got in the way, but I think I have fixed that. Took some fiddling to figure out that I needed to get the settings I wanted and THEN put the shortcut on the toolbar.

What a treat for my ancient eyes!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
